How can I hide an annoying message? lazarus / 9-Editor ---------------------------------------------------------------------- dpap · 2025-02-14 06:59 When I click to close button of Help window I receive the message "You can hide Help via Esc key.... Yes-No" I want to respect my click and close without this annoying message. How can I do it? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- n7800 · 2025-02-15 22:29 It closes without asking if you click "Exit" in the "File" menu or press [Alt+F4]. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- dpap · 2025-02-17 06:48 I know but why asks for confirmation when I click on exit button? The inverse behavior would be more reasonable because the Esc key can be pressed accidently so then needed confirmation, but not the close button! And finally, isn't so terrible to close the help accidently! ---------------------------------------------------------------------- CharlyTango · 2025-02-17 08:44 Obviously the programmer of this help window meant that pressing the X button directly on the window frame (or any other remote window element, because you have not told us which operating system you are working with) is an irregular closing of the window. But... Lazarus is open source and free of charge, so you can definitely get involved and programme another help window and make it available to the community. So far it seems that the community has not classified this behaviour as a serious bug. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- wp · 2025-02-17 15:06 I think this function should be reworked. I would prefer if there were a setting somewhere in the Lazarus options which remembers the given answer once and for all. Then the strange differences in closing by "x", menu command, or key short-cut could be removed as well - all commands should do the same. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Hartmut · 2025-02-18 08:44 I am used for many years to close the Help dialog with then "X" in the upper right corner. I find the unneccessary question "Do you really want to close" very uncomfortable and annoying - each time. I agree to the suggestion from wp to have a setting in the options to disable this question. Or to eliminate this unneccessary question completely.