[HN Gopher] Annual pre-pay and marketing budgets
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       Annual pre-pay and marketing budgets
        
       Author : jger15
       Score  : 81 points
       Date   : 2024-07-14 09:50 UTC (13 hours ago)
        
 (HTM) web link (longform.asmartbear.com)
 (TXT) w3m dump (longform.asmartbear.com)
        
       | cranberryturkey wrote:
       | I've always used prepaid plans to get money up front and re-
       | invest back in the business.
        
       | choeger wrote:
       | Where I live, most people will hesitate to buy into a yearly
       | plan.
       | 
       | I'd suggest to make it possible to _gift_ someone x years of your
       | service, because that 's something many people will happily do.
       | The only thing to avoid here is any kind of automatic retention.
       | One year is one year, period.
        
         | satvikpendem wrote:
         | Who is going to gift a SaaS to someone else?
        
           | mejutoco wrote:
           | An example could be an uncle to a nephew interested in
           | something educational.
        
           | koolba wrote:
           | The same idiots who give gift cards rather than fungible
           | cash.
        
             | tombert wrote:
             | I "idiots" is a bit harsh.
             | 
             | If I give someone cash [1], then they might just spend it
             | on their power bill or rent or groceries or just let it
             | live in a bank account. This is "fine", but it doesn't
             | really feel like a "gift".
             | 
             | If I buy them a gift card to Best Buy or something, they're
             | kind of forced to buy themselves something fun. You can't
             | really pay your rent with a gift card, it can't sit in a
             | bank account, you're kind of forced to get yourself
             | something you'll enjoy.
             | 
             | I am not saying it's the best gift or anything, I just
             | think "idiots" is harsh.
             | 
             | [1] and assuming that the person is in an economically
             | alright position
        
               | fragmede wrote:
               | Using the word idiots reveals GP's level of thinking.
               | Gift cards are a less useful gift than cash. The first
               | principals reasoning would say the more useful gift is
               | worth more than three less useful gift but this is human
               | psychology we're talking about so first principal
               | reasoning isn't enough.
               | 
               | Gifts are about having thought about somebody, and cash
               | is the equivalent of saying I couldn't be bothered.
               | Hence, gift cards. I thought about you for half a second
               | longer and gave you money to spend at a store off my
               | choosing. Under that framing, calling people idiots
               | because they give gift cards indicates an inability to
               | grasp or accept that cultural norm.
               | 
               | So, it makes it easy when someone telegraphs their mental
               | shortcomings to you.
        
               | Retric wrote:
               | I seriously dislike getting gift cards and rarely used
               | them. It makes checking out take longer, and you need to
               | remember you have them etc it's just a worse experience.
        
               | lotsofpulp wrote:
               | >Hence, gift cards. I thought about you for half a second
               | longer and gave you money to spend at a store off my
               | choosing.
               | 
               | That half second costs me far more time and effort to
               | keep track of a gift card, especially if a balance
               | remains on it. Either get the actual gift you want to
               | give the person, or give cash.
               | 
               | A gift card only benefits the merchant who gets to hold
               | onto cash and earn interest.
        
               | ThrowawayR2 wrote:
               | I'm mildly annoyed by merchant-specific gift cards when I
               | receive them. They're strictly worse than cash because
               | rarely does the merchant have anything I want at a price
               | that I consider reasonable.
        
               | ghaff wrote:
               | Ideally you know the person well enough that you at least
               | know "fun" stores they'll be shopping at anyway.
               | 
               | Or give something like an Amazon gift card which really
               | is more or less like cash for most people. (Though Amazon
               | knows this and their conversion rate is generally worse
               | than most retailers who are more specialized.)
               | 
               | That said, I'm not a huge fan of gift cards. It's one
               | more thing to keep track of but, hey, they're probably
               | better than some gift you don't want and cash just isn't
               | really acceptable in all cases.
        
             | bryanrasmussen wrote:
             | right, giving your daughter an annual netflix subscription
             | when she moves out is idiotic but giving her money she can
             | spend on a party and get drunk is a next-level genius move!
        
               | gumby wrote:
               | This is good advice. In the first case she's just sitting
               | at home alone while in the second she's out building her
               | network.
               | 
               | A gift that can change her life.
        
             | ghaff wrote:
             | It's somewhat of a cultural thing. Giving cash can seem
             | tacky whereas if someone has just got a house, a gift card
             | from a home improvement store or, if they're an outdoor
             | sports type, somewhere like REI might seem somewhat more
             | thoughtful even if you don't know exactly what they'd like.
        
           | dylan604 wrote:
           | My first license of 1Password was a gift, although, this was
           | before it was a SaaS. You can gift Neftflix and similar.
           | There's a lot of things that can be a decent gift.
        
           | 0cf8612b2e1e wrote:
           | Netflix, Xbox/PSN, Roblox, etc would all be valuable
           | subscriptions to children who are dependent upon others with
           | funds.
        
             | miki123211 wrote:
             | Can you subscribe to any of these via PaySafe, or any other
             | kind of card that you can just pick up in a grocery store
             | for cash?
        
               | j5155 wrote:
               | Yes, I believe all of those services have gift cards in
               | stores.
        
           | ghaff wrote:
           | Back in the day, gifting a magazine subscription like
           | National Geographic was very normal.
        
         | bartread wrote:
         | Annual plans aren't for the most part aimed at individuals
         | though: they're aimed at corporations. Corporations regularly
         | sign annual and even multi-year contracts for all manner of
         | services. There are many reasons this can be desirable, but
         | budgeting and discounts are often big factors.
        
           | withinboredom wrote:
           | Even as a corporation, we are often given some discretion on
           | spending through expenses. I may not be able to expense an
           | entire year, but I can expense a whole month at a time. If
           | it's valuable, then I will get permission to expense an
           | entire year ... but I have to be able to prove it's value.
        
       | arjunaaqa wrote:
       | Listening from asmartbear is always inspiring !
        
       | ChrisMarshallNY wrote:
       | I generally prefer to prepay a year. It tends to knock a bit off
       | the price, and is less annoying, as I'm not constantly getting
       | notices of withdrawal. Many companies will actually refund the
       | unused portion, if you cancel early.
       | 
       | However, _lifetime_ subscriptions seem to be almost worthless, as
       | I have yet to encounter a company that doesn 't redefine
       | "lifetime," to mean the lifetime of the subscription, which ends,
       | whenever they want.
        
         | nocoiner wrote:
         | At best, a lifetime subscription means the lesser of my
         | lifetime or the company's lifetime. If the former, sucks for me
         | - it's kinda like "winning" on your life insurance policy.
        
           | ChrisMarshallNY wrote:
           | I think reneging on a lifetime signup is really petty. I
           | strongly suspect that they don't actually constitute much of
           | a drain, and they are folks that had faith, and supported the
           | company, early on.
        
             | inafewwords wrote:
             | Had a few apps that become subscription and lifetime is
             | given to the early subscribers including free upgrades
        
           | cess11 wrote:
           | Depends on what you're getting. I have some 'lifetime
           | subscriptions' that allow me to keep copies of whatever these
           | companies are selling access to, which means that it's in
           | part up to me what I take from the deal and keep until the
           | end of my lifetime.
        
           | j45 wrote:
           | The lifetime deals that work out, are worth it.
           | 
           | Hitting a bet on the appsumo startup casino can be fun.
           | 
           | I have a few tools quietly that have remained lifetime, like
           | brain.fm.
           | 
           | Supporting what you think will win, early is a risk and an
           | opportunity.
        
         | unixhero wrote:
         | But you should learn about the concept of time value of money.
         | Don't part with your money until you have to, due to interest.
        
           | ChrisMarshallNY wrote:
           | Depends. If a year is $50, and a month is $5, then you save
           | $10 (16.7%). That's probably more than I'd make in interest.
           | 
           | My time is valuable, too. Every second not spent deleting
           | reminder texts, is a second I can use for other stuff.
        
             | toast0 wrote:
             | > My time is valuable, too. Every second not spent deleting
             | reminder texts, is a second I can use for other stuff.
             | 
             | Don't delete them then. Inbox Infinity.
        
             | plorkyeran wrote:
             | And of course taxes make it better to spend less money than
             | to earn the same amount of additional money. Beating a 10%
             | discount for a one-year prepay means you're getting really
             | good returns on your money, and 10% is the low end for
             | annual discounts.
        
         | shepherdjerred wrote:
         | Plex has done a great job with their lifetime subscription. I
         | paid something like $250 ~7 years ago and it's still the same.
        
       | ttul wrote:
       | This works until it doesn't. I have seen many startups raise a
       | ton of cash from pre-payments, burn it on marketing and R&D, and
       | then find that the cashflow isn't forthcoming as expected. I
       | force my companies to clearly show prepaid revenue on their
       | balance sheet and treat it as debt. Any discounts provided to win
       | the pre-payment also have to be recorded as a financing cost -
       | not a "sales discount" or buried in lower ARR. It might be
       | borrowed from your customers, but it's still debt and you have to
       | "service" it by providing products and services that do have a
       | marginal cost. Showing the financing cost achieves two things:
       | 
       | 1. It allows you to run a higher EBITDA metrics because financing
       | costs are backed out of EBITDA.
       | 
       | 2. You record the non-discounted revenue for the customer, which
       | is a truer representation of where the business could be one day
       | when it's no longer playing the pre-payment game to generate
       | cashflow.
       | 
       | Generally speaking, it's a good idea to generate cash from pre-
       | payments, but don't treat it as free no-risk money. You can get
       | over your skis quickly, run out of cash, and then be in a world
       | of hurt when you're unable to service those customers.
        
         | cess11 wrote:
         | I've recently been in contact with a SaaS company that failed
         | in part because they changed their revenue model from pre-pay
         | for something somewhat easy to deliver to something quite hard
         | to deliver. Along the lines of 'pay (by buying 'credits') for
         | any response to your marketing' to 'pay (by buying 'credits')
         | for only positive responses to your marketing'.
         | 
         | A deal isn't closed until both parties have done their part,
         | and, as you aptly describe, until one has done the delivery any
         | payment is akin to a debt, and hence it's a liability or risk
         | until the customer got what they signed up for.
        
           | j45 wrote:
           | If it was credit based you could sell the credits upfront and
           | the sale is complete.
           | 
           | Access to the system could be included or a much smaller
           | platform fee.
        
         | kevincox wrote:
         | > but it's still debt and you have to "service" it by providing
         | products and services that do have a marginal cost.
         | 
         | This should be accounted for. Say you sign a customer for $100
         | for a year. You should be able to estimate up front that it
         | will cost you $5 in service costs, $15 dollars in support, $5
         | in ... then you can book the $75 as expected profit. Some of
         | that can be put back into marketing in a short loop.
         | 
         | The main difference from monthly is that it takes N months for
         | that revenue to be captured. However you are more certain about
         | it. (Especially in pay-after where you can subtract actual
         | support and infrastructure costs from the revenue.)
        
         | cj wrote:
         | > I force my companies to clearly show prepaid revenue on their
         | balance sheet and treat it as debt. Any discounts provided to
         | win the pre-payment also have to be recorded as a financing
         | cost - not a "sales discount" or buried in lower ARR
         | 
         | "Unearned revenue" is a common account on any company's balance
         | sheet and is standard best practice.
         | 
         | You sign a 12 month deal, and it immediately hits your books as
         | a liability because the revenue isn't "earned" until your
         | company provides the service, so each month 1/12 of the
         | contract moves from the "unearned" revenue account to an income
         | account.
         | 
         | But the 2nd idea of treating sales discounts as a financing
         | charge sounds like some questionable financial engineering to
         | me. If your sales guy offers a "10% end of quarter discount if
         | you sign in the next week" you shouldn't be booking that
         | discounted 10% as financing income because, simply, that's
         | money you'll never receive.
         | 
         | I've never heard of "non-discounted revenue" as a serious SaaS
         | metric. Sure it will inflate your revenue (as will booking
         | discounts as revenue) but those practices won't pass the sniff
         | test when any outside VC or auditor looks at your books.
         | 
         | But 100% agree with the first part of your comment: from an
         | accounting perspective, prepaid contracts are typically booked
         | as a liability or debt on your balance sheet, and gradually
         | moved over into your Income/Earned Revenue account in 1/12
         | increments (or equivalent) over the upcoming year.
        
           | ttul wrote:
           | I should clarify: The IFRS statements do not break out the
           | discount in this manner. In accordance with IFRS/GAAP,
           | revenue should be reduced by the amount of the discount, not
           | treated as a financing item. However, for internal reporting,
           | particularly to the board, I have found it useful to break
           | out discounts for pre-payments in this manner and to force
           | the CEO to think about pre-paid revenue as "debt" and the
           | inherent discounts as "financing cost".
        
         | unixhero wrote:
         | This guy accounts! Thanks for the insightful analysis.
        
         | lmeyerov wrote:
         | Tracking monthly/annual bookings (or whatever the MRR/ARR
         | number is) for investors seperately from monthly/annual
         | recognized recognized revenue for conservative operations seems
         | simpler and achieves the same?
         | 
         | And yeah, the blog's advocacy of spending unrecognized revenue
         | is indeed risky, and how to do that safely is an interesting
         | q...
        
       | dgan wrote:
       | A wierd bubble he/she lives in. "Raise your prices! Your prices
       | are low! Raise them now!"
       | 
       | I find most services now are extremely overpriced. Your "pay us
       | $coffee$ per month", is absolutely not going to happen because
       | your service is one of dozens or hundreds I randomly find kinda
       | somewhat interesting in a given day. Ok If the service was a
       | couple of pennies, i might consider it.
       | 
       | Every single little app/service now thinks they are indispensable
       | utility provider and by such are entitled to x% of my monthly
       | salary. Get lost!!
        
         | stevoski wrote:
         | He is the founder of WP Engine, by far the biggest WordPress
         | hosting service.
        
           | gaadd33 wrote:
           | Is WPEngine larger than WordPress.com? Just curious since
           | years ago WPEngine seemed like the scrappy small startup.
        
         | true_religion wrote:
         | Ah yes, the bubble of having a product worth paying for.
         | 
         | In B2C I think subscriptions are over used since products do
         | not provide value over time but in B2B that should not be the
         | case.
         | 
         | Software that supports your business may be used be a daily
         | basis, and the value can be translated into a dollar figure of
         | time saved versus the alternative.
        
           | dgan wrote:
           | Okey I realised I went a little too hard on this. I agree on
           | the B2C versus B2B split and your analysis
        
         | aantix wrote:
         | Are you an engineer in the U.S.?
         | 
         | Seems like engineers rarely do the math on their productivity.
         | 
         | A tool that costs $100/month and saves an hour or two can still
         | be worth it.
        
           | CamelCaseName wrote:
           | It's different for everyone, but I don't stumble across tools
           | that save an hour or two that often.
           | 
           | In fact, excluding the very well known tools (e.g. LLMs) I
           | think I've found maybe 3 in my career and I only use one of
           | them sporadically (a $20 one-time Excel add-in). The other
           | two cost 4-5 figures and were provided by my employer at the
           | time.
        
           | addicted wrote:
           | This analysis is the right kind of analysis but most people
           | use the wrong metrics.
           | 
           | On the value of your time side, the metric that I've seen
           | people always use is the average value of a person's time.
           | However, the real relevant metric is the marginal value of
           | someone's time.
           | 
           | So,for example, if you are an engineer earning a fixed salary
           | that works out to $100/hr, saving a few more hours will not
           | earn you any more money. If, for example, it saves you some
           | time, the real question is what's the value of the time you
           | saved. If it saves company time, then the answer is close to
           | $0 with the only benefits being an earlier delivery (which
           | may even be a negative in many workplaces for you
           | personally). This may be a reason for the company to pay for
           | the tool but not for you as an individual. Alternatively, if
           | those 2 hours saved means you're gonna earn an additional 2
           | hours of free personal time, then the question is what you
           | will do with that personal time. If the answer is watch
           | Netflix for 2 hours then the value of those 2 hours is likely
           | much lower than $100/hr and in some cases may even be
           | negative.
           | 
           | Then there's an incomplete analysis on the other side as
           | well. If I save 2 hours by paying a freelancer $20 to setup
           | my servers, I may be losing some educational value that I
           | would have gained it by doing it myself. And for some there
           | may also be entertainment value attached. Personally, there
           | are several projects I can outsource that I enjoy doing
           | myself. Paying Google to manage my emails and calendars (at
           | least the less important accounts) is actually taking away
           | from the enjoyment I get in setting up, tinkering with, and
           | maintaining my NextCloud instance.
        
       | ajb wrote:
       | There is a sense to this but it depends on the kind of business
       | you're in. The more novel your business is, the more the customer
       | will need to try it out before they are convinced it's good
       | value. Similarly, where you are delivering the same thing every
       | month (like a vpn service) the customer can be easily convinced
       | that the next 11 months will deliver the same value, but where
       | it's a new thing every month (entertainment, education,
       | information) the customer will need several months to decide that
       | your value is consistently delivered. And the worst case is
       | where, like a dating app, or therapy, you are selling the
       | prospect that it might work, but each additional month is
       | evidence that it's not working.
        
       | bastien2 wrote:
       | This smacks of the infinite growth fallacy.
        
       | teo_zero wrote:
       | I know nothing about which is more profitable, monthly or annual,
       | but I'm sure TFA is mixing profit&loss and cash-flow. Getting the
       | money in advance (a concept belonging in cash flow) doesn't make
       | your budget (an item of P&L) any larger.
        
       | wiradikusuma wrote:
       | "CAC is the total cost.. ..including fully-loaded salaries" but
       | "Their CAC is $80.. ..$1.60 / 0.05 / 0.4 = $80" -- Where's the
       | salary part?
        
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