[HN Gopher] Tell HN: From $200/mo to $18k in 5 years as solo fou...
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       Tell HN: From $200/mo to $18k in 5 years as solo founder
        
       I start making money when I was in my final year of Master Degree
       in 2017 at the age of 25. I'm sharing breakdown of 5-years earnings
       by year.  #2017 -- $2,500 ($208 / month) Internship for US based
       company as a web developer with Angular.js  #2018 -- $6,500 ($542 /
       month) I joined a full-time job as web developer in a company & was
       doing extra work in night as freelancer.  I quit my job in 8-months
       & moved to south India to building company of one.  #2019 --
       $24,691 ( $2058 / month ) I sold my first project that I build out
       of a GitHub repository for $22k and did some extra side work to
       make more money. From now, I stop taking freelance work and start
       exploring ideas in APIs software. In Nov, 2019 I build NoCodeAPI
       and Launched in Jan'2020 before covid.  #2020 -- $42,124 ( $3,510 /
       month ) I grow my SAAS business nocodeapi to $2k MRR & built a
       small website with Twitter API in 11 hours and I sold that for $5k
       within a month.  #2021 -- $153,609 ( $12,800 / month ) NoCodeAPI
       MRR $3.5k and sold two side project for $95k while growing my SAAS
       business.  #2022 -- $216,433 ( $18,036 / month ) NoCodeAPI MRR
       grows to $5k and this got acquired for 6 figures.  #2023 -- ?
       Currently, I'm building a new software to make apps with table
       data. - tableapps.io
        
       Author : mddanishyusuf
       Score  : 167 points
       Date   : 2023-01-25 16:51 UTC (6 hours ago)
        
       | jimhi wrote:
       | What did the website do that you built with the Twitter API in 11
       | hours?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Here is the source
         | https://twitter.com/mddanishyusuf/status/1168820069985443840
        
           | jimhi wrote:
           | Nice job!
        
       | optymizer wrote:
       | Congrats! On a related note, can someone on HN can educate me on
       | why MRR is the primary metric? MRR doesn't tell you if the
       | startup is profitable, which is presumably the goal - to make
       | money. If your costs are $3M/month, an MRR of $100K sounds like a
       | terrible deal. Wouldn't it make more sense to report profits?
        
         | mikesabat wrote:
         | Generally agree with the sentiment, but here is likely why we
         | continue to talk about MRR.
         | 
         | 1. It's likely inherited from how investors look at startups.
         | They are just focused on growth more than profitability.
         | 
         | 2. In the US there are tax advantages to running costs through
         | the business so these costs might be inflated and profit
         | artificially reduced.
        
         | quickthrower2 wrote:
         | For this sort of business fixed and variable costs are low (he
         | is doing it for free, kind of)
        
           | baxtr wrote:
           | This really depends on how you acquire customers.
        
         | draaglom wrote:
         | As long as you believe you can acquire customers for some
         | margin less than (you project) they will pay you across their
         | lifetime as a customer, the rational choice to to maximise your
         | money is to spend all the money you have (and more!) on
         | acquiring more customers.
         | 
         | As a result, the majority of SaaS businesses aren't profitable,
         | and people talk mostly about MRR.
        
         | baby wrote:
         | for others like me who might not have known:
         | 
         | > Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) is the income that a company
         | expects to receive in payments on a monthly basis. MRR is a
         | critical revenue metric that helps subscription companies to
         | understand their overall business health profitability by
         | keeping a close eye on monthly cash flow.
        
         | moralestapia wrote:
         | One-person software shops usually have recurring costs close to
         | zero, so MRR pretty much equals profit (minus taxes and
         | whatever).
         | 
         | But yes, your argument stands for other kinds of startups.
        
           | brianwawok wrote:
           | I'd assume a few thousand for servers + softwares, but yah..
           | it's close enough to $0 you can usually tell if it's
           | profitable.
           | 
           | Unlike something like e-commerce where 100k in monthly sales
           | could be... 0 profit, or 70k in profit.
        
         | gdsdfe wrote:
         | MRR gages whether or not people are willing to spend money for
         | the product/service how this MRR evolves over time and how much
         | it is gives also an idea about growth and the 'demand' side of
         | things in general
        
       | TenJack wrote:
       | This is similar to Zapier, right? What is the value add? Just
       | trying to understand the market a bit better.
        
       | verdverm wrote:
       | Now that it has been acquired, is the purchaser planning to
       | continue building it?
       | 
       | Did you have to enter a support agreement given you were a solo
       | founder?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Yes, the product still growing well and they are adding more
         | features.
        
       | moneywoes wrote:
       | How did you acquire you first 100 users and how much did your
       | popular twitter play into that?
       | 
       | How much for marketing spend, most profitable levers you used?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Good question. I just build a solution of a problem I was
         | facing and I launch on ProductHunt and my twitter. People love
         | the idea and I got 30k customers on the plateform with $0
         | marketing hack. I don't spend money on marketing because I'm
         | not a big company.
        
           | Existenceblinks wrote:
           | I actually love your answer, contrast to a lot of hassle
           | myths. Build a useful thing, put it out there, of course they
           | would come.
        
             | eldritch_4ier wrote:
             | The actual reality is that starting a company is very
             | complex, and for every "rule" there's a very successful
             | company that did the opposite.
             | 
             | If your takeaway from this is that "build it and they will
             | come" is a good go to market strategy, you'd be terribly
             | wrong in the vast majority of cases. It worked in this case
             | because it was a solution to a painful, concrete problem
             | and the product hunt audience happened to be the right
             | customer suffering from that problem.
        
               | Existenceblinks wrote:
               | My takeaway is don't be scare of "build it and they will
               | come" meme too much because a lot of bad products that
               | drive the meme.
               | 
               | Actually I think the meme is kinda dumb because they
               | assume that people didn't read about it 1000 times
               | already.
        
       | mv4 wrote:
       | Very impressive. Thank you for sharing the details.
        
       | mandeepj wrote:
       | This is beyond impressive, considering you are still young.
       | Clearly, you've skills to reuse rinse and repeat formula.
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Thanks, Yes, I'm 30y old and will keep making software.
        
       | masterof0 wrote:
       | I can only imagine your lifestyle in India with $18,036 / month ,
       | that's probably the equivalent of making 60k a month in the US?
       | Wish you the best, I'm inspired.
        
         | codegeek wrote:
         | I see some people arguing that 18K in India is the same as
         | elsewhere. Don't pay attention to that. 18K per month in India
         | is HUGE and yes something things are equally expensive as other
         | developed countries (e.g. buying an apartment in crazy
         | expensive cities like Mumbai or Bangalore) but overall, the
         | cost of living is much lower than western countries on average.
         | 
         | Source: An Indian-American (I don't like hyphens but in this
         | case relevant for context) who frequently visits India and has
         | business there as well.
        
           | akudha wrote:
           | 18K USD is a LOT of money in India. Real estate in bigger
           | Indian cities is super expensive. Everything else is much,
           | much cheaper than western countries. You can get fantastic
           | food (tasty and healthy) compared to the U.S, very cheap.
           | Things can get much, much cheaper if you step out of the
           | bigger cities.
        
         | fdghsjakjhf__ wrote:
         | No, it's the equivalent of making ~$18,036 / month.
         | 
         | Do you think Mercedes makes a cheap version of an SLK for the
         | "poor Indians"?
         | 
         | I make more than the OP and live in his/her part of the world.
         | Luxury items are _more_ expensive than they are in the US.
         | 
         | That bigger house you can afford? You're still paying US prices
         | or higher for your furniture and appliances. Same goes for
         | autos, edu, cars, wine, dining, etc.
         | 
         | Generally speaking, "poor countries" are only relatively
         | cheaper in terms of labor and situationally, real estate. Your
         | Merc will cost you, having it washed will be relatively cheap.
        
           | outcoldman wrote:
           | Went I left Russia in 2011, I was making 54,000 a year, I
           | took my first job in the USA for about $92,000 a year. It
           | felt like I took a huge pay cut. Like I was making several
           | times less money.
           | 
           | Yes, it is easier to buy luxury things in United States, most
           | of the things are cheaper, comparing to other countries (SLK,
           | laptops, phones, etc). But that is not what defines the life.
           | 
           | If I remember everything correctly, below is break down of
           | monthly spending Russia vs USA in that time. Based on my
           | annual pay, my monthly salaries were $4,500 in Russia, $7,700
           | in USA
           | 
           | Let's compare (first number is spent in Russia, second in
           | USA), everything per month. At that time I used to use the
           | money-spent tracking software, so kind of remember pretty
           | well most of the bills.
           | 
           | - Taxes: 7% (~$300) vs ~18% ($1386)
           | 
           | - Rent: $300 vs $1200
           | 
           | - Cellular: $20 vs $100 (2 people)
           | 
           | - Internet: $10 vs $60
           | 
           | - Medical: $0 vs $200 (co-pays, dentals, plus paying for
           | spouse to keep her on the plan)
           | 
           | - Groceries: $300 vs $1000
           | 
           | - Cinema/Bars: $100 vs $300
           | 
           | - Commute: $20 vs $100
           | 
           | - Car insurance: $20 vs $100
           | 
           | ---
           | 
           | - What is left: $3430 vs $3254.
           | 
           | At the end, comparing the Russian's salary vs USA - based on
           | just common spent, I ended up with a little less money to
           | keep on hands. And it always felt like those money that left
           | way easier to spend in USA without even looking. Clothes,
           | shoes, concerts, etc.
           | 
           | For me, only when I started to get more than $250,000 a year
           | in USA, I felt that I was making a salary, that I could
           | compare to one I had in Russia.
           | 
           | Few notes: I lived not in the very big city, just around
           | 600,000 people, so rent and everything way cheaper comparing
           | to Moscow or St Petersburg. $54,000 a year is very high
           | salary in Russia, not very common, I used to work remotely
           | for UK based company.
           | 
           | P.S. I never regretted moving to USA (especially now), yes,
           | it did feel like I was making less, but the companies I was
           | working for, the products, the people, are on different
           | level. I learned a lot. Built my own company, living American
           | dream.
        
             | EVa5I7bHFq9mnYK wrote:
             | As someone who visited both US and Russia last year:
             | 
             | 1. Taxes in Russia are actually higher. You forgot to
             | include 30% Social Security tax, 20% VAT tax and import
             | taxes, that make, for example, cars, clothes and every bit
             | of electronics 50% more expensive. Now, because of the
             | sanctions, it's 100% more expensive.
             | 
             | 2. Rent depends on location, prices in Moscow are closer to
             | $1000 range. And in the US you usually get larger, cleaner
             | apartments, with more amenities.
             | 
             | 3. Cellular and Internet are indeed much cheaper, but it's
             | small amounts.
             | 
             | 4. Healthcare is cheaper while you are young and healthy.
             | If you have cancer, your life expectation will be 1/3 of
             | that in the USA. And overall you will live 15 years less,
             | that is, if you don't get mobilized.
             | 
             | 5. Groceries are basically 1:1. Some items, like bread, are
             | cheaper in Russia, but fresh fruit and vegs are more
             | expensive.
        
           | heywhatupboys wrote:
           | > Do you think Mercedes makes a cheap version of an SLK for
           | the "poor Indians"?
           | 
           | they, do? Global pricing of the same product is vastly
           | different depending on regions. If there is an Italian and a
           | Nepalese market for a handbag, that same bag could selld for
           | twice as much in Italy. Just look at videogame prices!
        
             | outcoldman wrote:
             | Interesting thing, that Mercedes cost more in Germany, than
             | in USA. And a lof of the models, they actually assemble in
             | Germany and ship to USA.
        
             | throwaway54687 wrote:
             | They don't. Not cars, not electronics, not house
             | appliances. As was said elsewhere - these are more
             | expensive in poorer countries, not cheaper. Maybe
             | handbags/other apparel, but I don't buy that.
             | 
             | As someone coming from a poorer country, I'd check if it
             | really is the same item - usually what happens is that they
             | produce a cheaper version out of cheaper materials and with
             | lesser service commitment that costs almost the same price
             | (80-95%) as the better item in a rich country.
        
               | whymauri wrote:
               | You cannot generalize every commodity and every 'poor
               | country' like that. There are cars in Colombia that are
               | less expensive in Colombia, and some that are more
               | expensive in Colombia, than the U.S.
               | 
               | Similarly, I was shocked to find that scotch whiskey is
               | actually cheaper in Colombia than the US, and it's the
               | same product. The market is more competitive because
               | discount liquor (especially rum) is decently good quality
               | and reaaally cheap. It's also hard to sell someone a
               | bottle that is half their monthly salary!
               | 
               | Of course, this doesn't hold for anything (and I frankly
               | have no idea how supply chains work), but my point is
               | that it's not as simple as made out above.
        
               | throwaway54687 wrote:
               | No, the same car is practically never less expensive in
               | Colombia than in the US. There are few specialty items
               | such as liquor, tobacco products or drugs where it's
               | different - but that's about it. Certainly not cars,
               | electronics, home appliances or anything else like that.
        
           | ketzo wrote:
           | Biggest expenses are food and rent. Those aren't cheaper in
           | India?
           | 
           | Your point is taken, but like, I don't have a monthly line-
           | item for Mercedes.
        
           | pbreit wrote:
           | Yes, some car companies do in fact create less expensive
           | vehicles specifically for certain markets.
           | 
           | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Kwid
        
             | dumbaccount123 wrote:
             | Not really applicable to premium brands so no need to be
             | pedantic
        
               | whymauri wrote:
               | The definition of premium shifts with the market. Subaru
               | is premium auto in Colombia and they sell the XV instead
               | of the Crosstrek, for example.
        
           | yamtaddle wrote:
           | I am entirely sure that like 90% of what my annual spending
           | goes toward in a typical year would be a lot cheaper in
           | India. Food, services (restaurants, childcare, cleaning,
           | delivery, healthcare, barbers, dentists, and so on), housing.
           | 
           | I'm not buying tens of thousands of dollars of cars and high-
           | end electronics per year. Or fancy clothes. I'm buying tens
           | of thousands of dollars of services, housing, and food.
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | I think living in developed countries like UK is cheaper than
         | india. I was in UK for 15 days and I found it's way better than
         | India and affordable.
        
           | manscrober wrote:
           | I haven't been to india myself, but giving the UK as a low
           | cost of living example is laughable
        
           | nimchimpsky wrote:
           | [dead]
        
         | PixelForg wrote:
         | I can't even imagine, my yearly income is $8350, and I still
         | manage to save money (Indian here as well)
        
       | jrbuilds wrote:
       | This is super cool, congrats!
       | 
       | I run https://www.startups.fyi and feature profitable
       | startups/side-projects along with revenue info (a lot of them are
       | from solo-founders like yourself).
       | 
       | Would love to feature you if you're up for it?
        
         | moneywoes wrote:
         | Do you verify the figures reported? Also could you please add
         | profit details
        
       | hbcondo714 wrote:
       | Thank you for sharing here on HN. Would you mind mentioning the
       | tech stack? Looks like the site is built on WordPress /
       | Elementor.
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | New buyer change the marketing website to Wordpress.
         | 
         | Before it was build with React(Gatsby).
        
       | eemmiillyy wrote:
       | Nice! Is it safe to put the token inside the URL like that though
       | (Looking at https://github.com/nocodeapi/embed-instagram-feed)?
       | Like would I be able to see the URL by inspecting the
       | page/watching the network tab, or does the element that takes
       | this URL as a parameter do something fancy?
        
       | petodo wrote:
       | congrats, but title is misleading, you was not founder first two
       | years, so it should be from 2000/month to 18K in 4 years, since
       | you also counted years wrong, 2017-2022 is 7 years if you include
       | first and last year and more importantly I'd be curious about net
       | profit after expenses, those numbers are meaningless if your
       | expenses grow exponentially
        
       | braindead_in wrote:
       | I'd highly recommend you check out Upekkha.
       | 
       | https://viestories.com/upekkha-invest-60-early-stage-b2b-saa...
        
       | moneywoes wrote:
       | For nocodeapi how did you land Microsoft, google etc and what was
       | the value prop over google?
        
       | 71a54xd wrote:
       | I'd literally rather just get two jobs at mid series B startups
       | or one Faang job. I completely don't understand why grinding out
       | 5yrs for $18k a month is even close to worth it.
        
         | ryanwaggoner wrote:
         | For one thing, you get to control your own time, but just as
         | importantly, that $18k/month is an asset you can sell for
         | ~$1mm.
        
         | pickleb wrote:
         | In another 5 years it could be $180k per month
        
         | gghffguhvc wrote:
         | They live in India.
        
         | petodo wrote:
         | they are not making 18K per month, it's just revenue (MRR), so
         | you are right as employee you will earn much more (at least at
         | that stage in US)
        
         | codegeek wrote:
         | 2 reasons:
         | 
         | 1. They want to do their own things, controlling their own time
         | and not work for someone else
         | 
         | 2. 18K/Mo in a developing country like India is huge. Assuming
         | that's revenue and profits are say at least 50% (usually higher
         | for SAAS but I am being conservative), that income puts you in
         | top 10% at the minimum.
        
           | corobo wrote:
           | Am I misreading or am I just learning the amount folks are
           | earning on this site?
           | 
           | In what country is 18k/mo not huge? That was my annual salary
           | in my last job! I need to move to America lmao
        
             | codegeek wrote:
             | 18k/Mo USD is huge everywhere, so yes correct. Even in
             | America.
        
         | Beaver117 wrote:
         | Seriously? The jobs will make you work at least 8 hours a day
         | on stuff you probably don't like, just to make the founders
         | rich.
         | 
         | At least he has control of his time.
        
       | rkoval wrote:
       | Awesome and inspiring work!! Did you create legal
       | entities/companies around each product that you built, or did you
       | have one legal entity that you still are in control of and just
       | sold off the IP from (or a mixture of both)?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Yes, I have one roof for all my projects. mvpstack.io
        
       | wantsanagent wrote:
       | 6 figures seems like a low ARR multiple, but maybe my perspective
       | is skewed from very large acquisitions. What is a common multiple
       | at this size?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | 5x ARR is normally SAAS software got acquired. According to me
         | it's not that bad as a Solo founder.
        
         | ezekg wrote:
         | For small acquisitions like that, I've seen rough multiples of
         | 4-8x ARR.
         | 
         | So 6 figures makes sense for $5k MRR.
        
       | tppiotrowski wrote:
       | I noticed MRR is the key measure reported by startups. I've seen
       | some startups in really saturated markets have very high MRR and
       | it made me wonder if they're just spending $.99 of every $1 on
       | ads so really they do not make any profit but high revenue. Can
       | you comment on profit vs revenue?
        
         | rubyn00bie wrote:
         | Monthly recurring revenue typically corresponds with cashflow
         | and cashflow pretty much rules the roost when thinking about
         | useful metrics for a business. With sporadic, or unreliable,
         | MRR you're going to have more risk because there's a higher
         | likelihood of having a "down month" where you're forced to use
         | savings or loans to cover expenses.
        
         | TuringNYC wrote:
         | >> wonder if they're just spending $.99 of every $1
         | 
         | If they spend $0.99 for $1 of MRR, that is amazing, because the
         | first month's revenue covers the cost of acquisition and the
         | rest of the stream is profit (minus other expenses of course.)
         | 
         | Some of it depends on churn and how much MRR you lose and how
         | quickly.
        
           | tppiotrowski wrote:
           | So it's a metric you can game if you go viral on Twitter and
           | get a lot of signups that cancel after one month?
        
             | TuringNYC wrote:
             | Not really, because MRR isnt the only metric.
             | 
             | We'd look at an objective function of LTV to CAC ratio.
             | 
             | We'd ignore everything below a certain absolute MRR.
             | 
             | We'd also ignore anything below a certain MRR growth rate.
             | 
             | The ones we'd typically look at as an investor are:
             | MRR/ARR, Churn, CAC and TLV.
             | 
             | TLV would be total lifetime value which includes the
             | monthly revenue * months given churn.
             | 
             | CAC would be the advertisement cost.
             | 
             | This basically means, how much $ are you spending to make
             | what total $ per customer, and how what is the volume.
        
         | rhacker wrote:
         | I typically only see MRR numbers for "one man startups" because
         | you see the number and compare it to your salary and go - Shit
         | I can do that. I could've done that. Damnit!
         | 
         | MRR is meaningless in larger startups because for all intents
         | and purposes would be eaten by the salaries in two seconds,
         | unless it's huge. At any point it becomes reported as annual
         | revenue.
        
         | calvinmorrison wrote:
         | Just to dive into this, most advertising people are tracking
         | "ROAS", Return on Ad Spend, so for every dollar you are
         | spending in advertising, how much do you get back. Depending on
         | your situation you may target different roas numbers and find
         | it acceptable.
        
           | zoltrix303 wrote:
           | ROAS is a good operational metric, but I'd argue that for a
           | SAAS, you need to look at CLV vs cost of acquisition.
        
         | MacsHeadroom wrote:
         | Startups spend like $2-$5 per $1 of MRR, which is why they run
         | out of runway and constantly need more investors.
         | 
         | Successful startups spend more like $1.25 per $1 of MRR.
         | 
         | Profit is for solo founders and bootstrapers.
        
       | [deleted]
        
       | newobj wrote:
       | How/where did you sell your projects?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | I use microacquire for this.
        
           | raptor556 wrote:
           | How did buyers perform due diligence?
           | 
           | I have surface level experience in the private equity
           | industry and was surprised that there seems to be very, very
           | little due diligence performed on sales through microacquire,
           | so I'm building a due diligence platform for buyers and
           | sellers doing those sorts of deals.
           | 
           | I'm curious about how your buyers performed due diligence.
        
             | mddanishyusuf wrote:
             | They asked for data about product like customers, usage,
             | roadmap, etc and they just chat about churn and growth
             | percentage. This took me 15 days to finish.
        
               | raptor556 wrote:
               | Was it just through email? Did they verify any of the
               | info you sent them?
        
               | mddanishyusuf wrote:
               | Yes, I give them access as read permission.
        
           | biggunz wrote:
           | microacquire - is there any way we can see/verify that it
           | happened?
           | 
           | congrats btw
        
             | mddanishyusuf wrote:
             | Yes, you can ask the founder "Andrew Gazdecki" or DM me on
             | twitter (@mddanishyusuf) and I'll send you proof :)
        
       | tinyhouse wrote:
       | Do you need help with tableapps.io? Sounds like a cool project.
        
       | moralestapia wrote:
       | Hey @mddanishyusuf!
       | 
       | Is there some contact info so one may get in touch?
       | 
       | I'm building something _quite_ similar to tableapps, it would be
       | nice to exchange ideas around that.
        
       | ryanwaggoner wrote:
       | I hope it was high six figures, because a product with that much
       | recurring revenue that's several years old should get at least 5x
       | multiplier unless there's something weird going on.
        
       | gdsdfe wrote:
       | just curious, who's your competition? there must be other people
       | doing this no?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | There was some but not like this simple and easy.
        
       | highwayman47 wrote:
       | Congrats, are you using micro acquire to sell?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Yes, I was using microacquire and twitter.
        
       | joshbochu wrote:
       | congrats! 1. are your projects open source? 2. have you written
       | about your experience working on these projects somewhere e.g. a
       | blog post?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Thanks, Yes some of them are open source on
         | GitHub(mddanishyusuf) and I write sometimes on my personal
         | website mohddanish.me
        
       | petilon wrote:
       | Your website is very nice. Where did you hire designers?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Thanks, I design, I code, I sell, I market, I do everything my
         | self.
         | 
         | I love designing.
        
       | SeanLuke wrote:
       | I was very confused by this title. $18k in 5 years is $300/mo.
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | $200/mo to $18k/mo
        
           | SeanLuke wrote:
           | Of course. But that's not what it says.
        
       | moomoo11 wrote:
       | Nice bro. Wish u all the best
        
       | ryanwaggoner wrote:
       | Great success, thanks for sharing!
       | 
       | Why did you sell now instead of building for a few more years? If
       | you had hit $30-50k per month you probably could have sold it for
       | enough to be financially independent for life. Were you bored or
       | burned out? Or did growing it further require things that you
       | didn't want to do?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | The project was growing that was required more people and more
         | work. So, I decide building new things rather than hiring new
         | team members.
        
           | ryanwaggoner wrote:
           | Completely understand, I'd do the same if I couldn't figure
           | out how to scale and stay solo.
        
       | sakopov wrote:
       | Maybe I'm a little thick today, but can someone explain what
       | NoCodeApi does? I watched the video on the site and I still don't
       | understand the value added here. Is it just proxying calls to
       | various APIs?
        
         | bastardoperator wrote:
         | You can change the project name and add members though. I
         | concur, I also think it's just a proxy that hides the actual
         | credentials from the user but I'm not 100% on that. I guess it
         | doesn't matter though, they sold it for 100K+ so someone
         | understood.
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | The thing is API is interesting things for developers, if you
         | make super easy for all the people who don't know much about
         | API then they love to try out API in simple way.
         | 
         | So, I add simplicity to this product and making super easy for
         | people.
        
       | IndigoIncognito wrote:
       | I wonder how different your financial & business situation would
       | be if you lived in a developed country such as the US or the UK?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | Maybe I'll be making 10x money there.
        
           | krytz wrote:
           | [dead]
        
       | curiousDog wrote:
       | How and where did you learn your designing skills? Would love to
       | learn.
        
       | pfoof wrote:
       | Can you tell some more details? What was this API, how long did
       | it take, what tech did you use, how much experience do you have?
        
         | rcme wrote:
         | I think the product is literally called "NoCodeAPI." It's still
         | available: https://nocodeapi.com/
        
       | sbarre wrote:
       | How did you market NoCodeAPI once you had launched it?
        
         | mddanishyusuf wrote:
         | ProductHunt was big push for my all projects and twitter.
         | 
         | And after that Google SEO, WOM.
        
           | moneywoes wrote:
           | Are you worried about copy cats on product hunt?
        
             | mddanishyusuf wrote:
             | We don't have to worry about that.
        
       | pierrebai wrote:
       | Congratulations!
       | 
       | Things I've noticed: no way to get back to nocodeapi landing page
       | once logged in.
       | 
       | I am surprised that the list of big-names you give on your
       | landing page rely on this because all users of nocodeapi have to
       | trust you with their security tokens and API tokens. We have to
       | trust the are properly encrypted, that no one could decrypt and
       | use them... I would have thought most companies legal coding
       | guidelines would prevent them from trusting a 3rd party with such
       | tokens.
        
       | WheelsAtLarge wrote:
       | Thanks for sharing. It's nice to read about someone that's moving
       | forward successfully.
        
       | brodouevencode wrote:
       | You have a typo on the View API Docs button at
       | https://nocodeapi.com/marketplace/youtube/ that leads to
       | https://nocodeapi.com/docs/youotube-api/. I think it's supposed
       | to lead to https://nocodeapi.com/docs/youtube-api/.
        
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