https://www.dominikmayer.com/2023/09/icloud-drive-silently-deletes-your-content/ ICloud Drive Silently Deletes Your Content | Dominik Mayer - Products, Asia, Productivity Dominik Mayer Products * Asia * Productivity Products Asia Productivity Consulting About Now Search Get in touch ICloud Drive Silently Deletes Your Content The first time it happened, I was writing a paper. The paragraphs I had just typed vanished into thin air, faster than Time Machine or Backblaze could save them. Gone. The next occurrence was during app development; Xcode suddenly flagged numerous errors in previously error-free code. My recent changes to several files were erased. Months later, the mystery is solved: iCloud Drive detected a file conflict. It assumed different versions of the same file existed on my Mac and iPhone and couldn't merge them automatically. This was impossible; the affected files were never opened on the iPhone. But they were in iCloud, as I had moved my Mac's Documents folder there. Dropbox manages version conflicts by storing all conflicting files side by side, labeled as "(John Doe's conflicted copy)". iCloud Drive, however, doesn't show these conflicts in the file system. If you open the file in an editor that supports conflict handling, a popup appears asking which version to keep. Editors like Textifier, Xcode, or Obsidian, lacking conflict handling, leave iCloud to decide which version to store on your disk and in your backup. Over time, newer backups overwrite older ones containing the correct version; your content is gone for good. The only way to get it back is to open the file with an editor that supports conflict resolution. ^1 Once moved out of iCloud Drive, even that won't help. The content is lost.^2 Masking version conflicts might appear user-friendly, but it has catastrophic consequences. You might not discover the data loss until years later, when reopening significant but infrequently used documents. Until iCloud Drive exposes version conflicts in the file system or a central, easily accessible location, my strong recommendation is to move all crucial data out of it. Meanwhile, set up a Git repository to monitor your critical files; you might uncover surprising changes. --------------------------------------------------------------------- 1. I use iA Writer. -[?] 2. In my tests, moving the unchanged file back to iCloud brought back the conflicted version popup. This may not happen if the file has been edited or if you've continued working on a copy. -[?] september 23, 2023 * apple icloud productivity products Related * Privacy at Apple * Playtesting at Valve * How Tech Companies Manipulate the Media - The Best Productivity Apps for Mac Latest Posts * ICloud Drive Silently Deletes Your Content * Playtesting at Valve * Zettelkasten Latest Topics ABBA Alibaba Apple Books Cal Newport China Entertainment Finance Games Haruki Murakami Health ICloud Jack Ma Lovelife Marketing Mikhail Gorbachev Music Obsidian Personal Knowledge Management Russia Shanghai Skyscrapers USSR War Xi Jinping Colophon * Privacy Made with