* * * * * I'm not the only one I found the following in my email box today: > From: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX > To: sean@conman.org > Subject: the domain con guy email > Date: Thu, 11 Dec 2008 00:04:24 EST > > Hi, I just read your post on your site about the domain name guy. I did a > search for domainguardsystem.com because I has just received the same email > from him, only of course a different domain. When I checked on the .com > domain of the .org that I used to own, it was available also. This silly > person is trying to sell domains he does not own for a huge markup. You can > buy the name with GoDaddy for $7.69 using a discount code and probably > cheaper at other places, and he wants to sell names he does not own for > $99!! Unreal … At any rate, I am glad you posted about it. He only bought > his domain in October, so he is fairly new at this and seems to be > targeting the owners of dot orgs right now. > > Cindy > Glad I could help, Cindy (and it seems that Cindy [1] blogged about domainguardsystem.com [2] as well). [1] http://www.thewahmagazine.com/about/ [2] http://www.thewahmagazine.com/2008/12/10/beware-of-a-domain-name-buying-scam/ Email Sean Conner at sean@conman.org .