Using a Password to Restrict Access to NetTracker Functions


You may want some people to be able to view reports but not modify or update them. NetTracker enables you to password protect some or all of the profile options.

You can also protect your profile by using the security available through your Web server. Using the server’s security enables you to protect all of NetTracker.

To use a password to restrict access to NetTracker functions:
  1. Click the Options tab.
  2. In the left-hand panel, click Passwords under Main.
  3. In the New password box, enter the password you want to use.
  4. In the New password (again) box, enter the password a second time.
  5. Select one or more of the following options:
    • To require users to enter a password in order to change any of the profile options, select the Protect all of the profile options check box.
    • To require users to enter a password in order to change the log file or password options, select the Protect only the log file and password options check box.
    • To require users to enter a password in order to remove data from the profile, select the Protect the Remove Data from Profile page check box.
    • Note: Unless you have also selected the Protect all of the profile options check box, users can still remove data. When certain options are changed, NetTracker provides the user with the opportunity to delete profile data. If the user chooses this option, the result is the same as if the user had clicked Remove All Months on the Remove Data from Profile page.

    • To require users to enter a password in order to update the profile, select the Protect the updating of this profile check box.
  6. Click Save Options and then click Continue.

The new settings will take effect immediately.