Changing the Number of Minutes between Visits


By default, if 30 minutes elapse without a new page view, NetTracker considers the next page view from a given user to be the start of a new visit. For example, if a visitor comes to your Web site, leaves, and comes back within 30 minutes, NetTracker will consider the visitor’s return as part of the same visit. Also, if a visitor stays on one page on your Web site without clicking on another link for 30 minutes, the visit will time out, and NetTracker will see the next page the visitor views while on your site as part of a different visit.

If your site contains large amounts of text, you may want to increase the number of minutes between visits. If your site has small amounts of text, you may want to decrease the number of minutes between visits.

To change the number of minutes between visits:
  1. Click the Options tab.
  2. In the left-hand panel, click Sessionization under Visitors.
  3. In the Number of minutes between visits box, enter the maximum number of minutes that can elapse between two consecutive page views by the same visitor and still be classified as the same visit.
  4. Click Save Options.
  5. NetTracker will use the new time value to sessionize traffic in all new data that you import from now on. If this is what you want, click Continue. If you want NetTracker to use the new time value to sessionize traffic in data you have already imported, you will need to delete your profile data and reimport your log files. (Note: If you do not still have every log file that you have imported into this profile, you will lose profile data by choosing this option.) To delete profile data, click Delete Profile Data.