                       -------------------------------
                       NetTracker 7.5 Lite Readme File
                                  (UNIX)
                     ---------------------------------------
           (c) 1996-2005 Sane Solutions, LLC. All rights reserved.


-------
Welcome
-------

Thank you for using NetTracker 7.5. This document contains important 
information on installing and configuring NetTracker. We suggest you 
read the entire document before you install NetTracker.

Thank you.

The NetTracker Development Team
Another Sane Solution

--------
Contents
--------

  * Installing NetTracker
  * Configuring the Browser
  * Configuring the Web Server that Serves the NetTracker Reports
  * Configuring the Web Server Whose Log Files You Are Analyzing

---------------------
Installing NetTracker
---------------------

Note: The computer on which NetTracker is installed must also have a Web
server installed. NetTracker uses this Web server to serve the NetTracker
reports.

To install NetTracker:

    1.  Unpack the archive into a temporary directory. Example:

           gunzip NetTracker-7.5-Lite-FreeBSD4.tar.gz
           tar xvf NetTracker-7.5-Lite-FreeBSD4.tar

    2.  Change directories into the unpacked directory.

    3.  Run the ntinstall program. Example:

           ./ntinstall

    4.  Read and accept the license agreement.

    5.  When prompted, enter the program directory for NetTracker. The
        program directory will store executable and database files.
        Make sure that you have plenty of disk space free on this
        partition, as the amount of space used by NetTracker is
        directly related to the number of hits your Web server receives.

    6.  When prompted, enter the HTML directory for NetTracker. This
        directory will store the generated HTML reports, so it must
        be under the document root for your Web server.

    7.  When prompted, enter the URL that corresponds to the HTML directory
        that you specified in the previous step.

    8.  When prompted, enter the CGI-BIN directory for NetTracker. This
        directory will store the CGI-BIN programs that allow you to use
        NetTracker through your Web browser, so it must be set up as
        a CGI-BIN directory within your Web server software.

    9.  When prompted, enter the URL that corresponds to the CGI-BIN
        directory that you specified in the previous step.

    10. NetTracker will now ask you if you would like to configure your
        profile during the installation process. When prompted, select Yes
        to configure the profile now. To configure the profile later, select
        No. If you select No, skip to step 12.

    11. When prompted, enter the profile configuration parameters for your
        profile.

    12. NetTracker will now ask you if you would like to enter information
        about your mail server during the installation process. (NetTracker
        needs this information if you want to e-mail reports to others or
        deliver error notifications via e-mail to the administrator you
        specify.) When prompted, select Yes to configure your e-mail
        settings now. To configure the settings later--through the Web
        browser interface--select No. If you select No, skip to step 17.

    13. When prompted, enter the host name or IP address of your mail
        server.

    14. When prompted, enter the TCP port on which your mail server is
        installed. (Press Enter to accept the default of 25.)

    15. When prompted, enter the e-mail address from which all NetTracker
        reports will be sent.

    16. When prompted, enter the e-mail address of the people who should be
        notified of errors. Separate multiple e-mail addresses with commas.

    17. NetTracker will now ask you if you would like to have your profile
        updated automatically each day. If you select a time of day from the
        list, NetTracker will generate an entry for you to add to your
        system's crontab file.

    18. Review the values you have entered, and correct any mistakes.

    19. NetTracker will then finish the installation process and display a
        URL for you to enter into your Web browser to begin using
        NetTracker. If you selected a time of day to have your reports
        automatically updated in step 17, an entry to add to your system's
        crontab file will also appear.

-----------------------
Configuring the Browser
-----------------------

Your NetTracker installation can be accessed from other computers through
a Web browser. For optimal performance, you should configure your Web
browser's Cache or Temporary Internet file settings according to the
following instructions.

Firefox 1.0 and Later
---------------------
    1.  On the Tools menu, click Options.
    
    2.  In the left-hand panel, click Privacy.
    
    3.  Expand the Cache settings, if necessary, by clicking the plus sign
        next to Cache.
    
    4.  Set the Use up to: option to 0.

Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.x and Later
-----------------------------------------
    1.  On the Tools menu, click Internet Options.

    2.  Click the General tab.

    3.  Under Temporary Internet files, click Settings.

    4.  Set "Check for newer versions of stored pages" to "Every
        visit to the page".

    5.  Click OK.

    6.  Click the Advanced tab.

    7.  In the list of options, ensure the "Print background colors and
        images" check box is selected. (If this option is not selected, the
        legend in the NetTracker graphs will not print properly.)

    8.  Click OK.

Microsoft Internet Explorer for the Macintosh
---------------------------------------------
For optimal performance, you should configure Internet Explorer as follows:

    1. Under Explorer, click Preferences.

    2. Under Web Browser, click Advanced.

    3. Under Cache, set the Update pages option to Always.

Mozilla 1.0 and Later
---------------------
    1.  On the Edit menu, click Preferences.

    2.  Open the Advanced group.

    3.  Click Cache.

    4.  On the right, set "Compare the page in the cache to the page
        on the network" to "Every time I view the page".

    5.  Click OK.

Netscape Communicator 6.3 and Later
-----------------------------------
    1.  On the Edit menu, click Preferences.

    2.  Open the Advanced group.

    3.  Click Cache.

    4.  Under "Compare the page in the cache to the page on the network",
        select "Every time I view the page".

    5.  Click OK.

Opera 7.0 and Later
-------------------
    1.  On the File menu, click Preferences.

    2.  Click the History and Cache tab.

    3.  Under Check Modified, set each of the groups (Documents,
        Images, and Other) to Always.

    4.  Select the "Always check redirect (documents)" check box.

    5.  Select the "Always check redirect (images)" check box.

    6.  Click OK/Apply.

Safari
------
You do not need to configure your Safari browser. Safari does not allow you
to change the Cache setting.

-------------------------------------------------------------
Configuring the Web Server that Serves the NetTracker Reports
-------------------------------------------------------------

For optimal performance, you should configure the Web server that
serves the NetTracker reports according to the following instructions.
The first four sections contain general instructions for all server
types. The remaining sections are server specific.

Mime Types
----------
NetTracker can export data, allowing users to import NetTracker reports
into popular software products such as Microsoft Excel, Access, and Word.
NetTracker uses the .csv, .html, and .rtf file extensions when exporting
data. For optimal performance, it is recommended that you add the mime type
"application/octet-stream" for the file extension .csv. For more
information on this, see the following server-specific notes or consult
your Web server documentation.

Password Protection
-------------------
NetTracker does not come with any type of built-in password protection to
restrict access from unauthorized individuals. You can restrict access to
NetTracker using your Web server's built-in security. NetTracker profiles
do, however, have built-in password options to restrict access to various
NetTracker profile functions and options. (For details, see the NetTracker
User's Guide or online help system.)

Report Automation
-----------------
NetTracker comes with a command-line utility, nettracker, which you can
use to automatically generate reports each night. The easiest way to
configure this option is to add this command to your system's crontab file.
For example, to update your profiles each night at midnight, simply add:

    0 0 * * * /path/to/program/directory/nettracker all -quiet -update
    -dir /path/to/program/directory/

(all one line) to your system's crontab file.

The -quiet command-line option prevents NetTracker from printing anything
to standard output when performing the update. For details on command-line
options, see the NetTracker User's Guide.

Apache
------
For the NetTracker export function to work properly, you will need to
edit the server's mime.types file.

To edit the server's mime.types file:

    1.  Open the file mime.types in a text editor. (The default
        location for mime.types is /usr/local/apache/conf.)

    2.  Look for the line:

            application/octet-stream  bin dms lha lzh exe class

    3.  Change it to:

            application/octet-stream  bin dms lha lzh exe class csv

    4.  Save and close mime.types.

    5.  Restart Apache.

Sun ONE/iPlanet Web Server
--------------------------
Note: On Sun ONE/iPlanet servers, CGI is not set up by default. If you
have not already done so, you will need to set up a CGI-BIN directory
before installing NetTracker.

For the NetTracker export function to work properly, you will
need to edit the server's mime.types file.

To edit the server's mime.types file:

    1.  Change to the directory in which the configuration files are
        located for the server on which you installed NetTracker.

    2.  Open mime.types in a text editor.

    3.  Look for the line:

            type=application/octet-stream  ext=bin

    4.  Change it to read:

            type=application/octet-stream  ext=bin, csv

    5.  Restart the server.

------------------------------------------------------------
Configuring the Web Server Whose Log Files You Are Analyzing
------------------------------------------------------------

Apache
------
With Apache, we recommend that you log to NCSA Combined Log Format.

To log to NCSA Combined Log Format in Apache 1.3 and later:

    1.  Open httpd.conf in a text editor. (The default location for
        httpd.conf is /usr/local/apache/conf.)

    2.  Find the LogFormat line:

            LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\"
            \"%User-Agent}i\"" combined

        If you cannot find it, add it.

    3.  Comment out the lines:

            CustomLog logs/access_log common
            CustomLog logs/referer_log referer
            CustomLog logs/agent_log agent

    4.  Uncomment the line:

            CustomLog logs/access_log combined

    5.  Save and close httpd.conf.

    6.  Restart Apache.

Sun ONE/iPlanet Web Server
---------------------------
To log browser and referrer information using a Sun ONE/iPlanet Web
server:

    1.  Set the Log Client Accesses? option to Yes.

    2.  Set the Record option to Domain Names.

    3.  Under Format, select Only Log and turn on at least the
        following fields:

            * Client hostname
            * Authenticated user name
            * System date
            * Full request
            * Status
            * Content length
            * HTTP header, "referer"
            * HTTP header, "user-agent"
